I guess it’s that time of year.  I rarely get home and on the bike before 7PM each night.  Which pretty much means my entire ride is in dark city. It’s not bothering me as much as it did last year, which was really the first time I had ever done that, even after all my years of racing way back when.   I have to limit where I ride, there’s roads I just will not ride in the dark, tail light/head light or not.  In some respects, it’s good, because since it’s dark, you don’t see the same landscape that it seems like I’m destined to ride this time of year… over and over and over again.  And it definitely beats riding in the garage.

At least the gnats are getting less and less each week.  A few weeks ago, it was impossible to go riding without ingesting about a million of them.  Now it’s maybe one or two.

For me, as a ‘cross racer, it’s really my only option to train this time of year so I guess it’s time to put on the big boy panties, suck it up, HTFU, Rule #5 and all that jazz and just get it done.  At least it’s still possible to ride on the road at all and the weather hasn’t turned to complete shit yet.

What about you?  What tricks of the trade do you use to stay out of trouble and upright on the road when riding in the dark??

 

