What a fun place to have a race.

Gears and beers is held at the Tupps Brewery in McKinney – and the brewery itself is near to/next door to some old ruins in McKinney that make for a fantastic backdrop for a day of CX racing, especially if you’re a history nerd like me.

This was one of the handful of places I raced at last year in my first foray into cyclocross.  Unlike last year, where I struggled to finish one day of racing there… Coach has me racing both days (which was unthinkable last year) and tomorrow we’re even shooting for 2 races.  Once with the 4/5s and once with the sharks that live in the Master’s race.

The course was flat as a pancake and had several timing/switchback sections on it where I was making up ground on people along with a handful of just flat out open power sections in the grass where they would pull away.

The bike handling is there, and I’m really pleased with it.  The power in the legs is getting better, but it’s nowhere near where I want to be and let’s face it… I need to lose more weight.

Going to try and use my “gravel” bike tomorrow – if for no other reason I want to see what the different bikes handle like because as of now, I have a very limited experience level.

Love it or hate it… I’ll touch base tomorrow.

